Archive

Archive for July 8, 2008

Huna Revisited

July 8, 2008 Leave a comment

Just revisiting some Huna…

IKE
-Our ideas create our reality.

KALA
-There are no limits.

MAKIA
-Energy flows where attention goes.

MANAWA
-Now is the moment of power.

ALOHA
-To love is to be happy with.

MANA
-All power comes from within.

PONO
-Effectiveness is the measure of truth.

Hurt no-one and no-thing with hate.
Breathing: 1 in, 2 out.
Talk positively, thought will follow.
Filter input, do not accept beliefs unquestioned.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , , , , , ,

Quotes: Acceptance

July 8, 2008 Leave a comment

Acceptance  Embracing life on its own terms. Acceptance allows us to bend without breaking in the face of tests.

Quotes on Acceptance (Source acknowledged if known):

“Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect. It means that you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections.”
 
“When you find peace within yourself, you become the kind of person who can live at peace with others.”
Peace Pilgrim quotes (American Teacher and Spiritual leader and Peace Prophet, 1908-1981)
 
“Many of us crucify ourselves between two thieves – regret for the past and fear of the future.”
Fulton Oursler
 
“A friend is someone who understands your past, believes in your future, and accepts you just the way you are.”
 
“There comes a time when you have to stand up and shout: This is me damn it! I look the way I look, think the way I think, feel the way I feel, love the way I love! I am a whole complex package. Take me… or leave me. Accept me – or walk away! Do not try to make me feel like less of a person, just because I don’t fit your idea of who I should be and don’t try to change me to fit your mold. If I need to change, I alone will make that decision. When you are strong enough to love yourself 100%, good and bad – you will be amazed at the opportunities that life presents you.”
© 2000 Stacey Charter
 
“As you become more clear about who you really are, you’ll be better able to decide what is best for you – the first time around.”
Oprah Winfrey
 
“Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing, there is a field. I will meet you there.”
Jalal ad-Din Rumi quotes (Persian Poet and Mystic, 1207-1273)
 
“Deep down even the most hardened criminal is starving for the same thing that motivates the innocent baby: Love and acceptance”
Lily Fairchilde
 
“A true man never frets about his place in the world, but just slides into it by the gravitation of his nature, and swings there as easily as a star.”
Edwin Hubbel Chapin quotes (American Clergyman, Author, Speaker, Writer and Pastor, 1814-1880)

“Some people confuse acceptance with apathy, but there’s all the difference in the world. Apathy fails to distinguish between what can and what cannot be helped; acceptance makes that distinction. Apathy paralyzes the will-to-action; acceptance frees it by relieving it of impossible burdens.”
Arthur Gordon

“The art of acceptance is the art of making someone who has just done you a small favor wish that he might have done you a greater one.”
Martin Luther King, Jr.

“Acceptance is not submission; it is acknowledgement of the facts of a situation. Then deciding what you’re going to do about it.”
Kathleen Casey Theisen
 
“One already wet does not feel the rain.”
Philemon Turkish Proverb

“If a ship has been sunk, I can’t bring it up. If it is going to be sunk, I can’t stop it. I can use my time much better working on tomorrow’s problem than by fretting about yesterday’s. Besides, if I let those things get me, I wouldn’t last long.”
Admiral Ernest J. King
 
“Shall a man go and hang himself because he belongs to the race of pygmies, and not be the biggest pygmy that he can?”
Henry David Thoreau
 
“Accept your humanness as well as your divinity, totally and without reserve.”
 
“When you are outraged by somebody’s impudence, ask yourself at once, “Can the world exist without impudent people?” It cannot; so do not ask for impossibilities.”
Marcus Aurelius Antonius

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,